Scientific Council

The scientific council includes eighteen members. For 2020/2021, 2021/2022 and 2022/2023, the Chair is Mr Dario Mantovani and includes the following:

Seven ex-officio members:

  • the director of the École française de Rome, Ms Brigitte Marin;
  • two representatives of the State
    • a representative of the Minister of Higher Education, Research and Innovation, the Director General of Research and Innovation, Ms Claire Giry (or his representative);
    • a representative of the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs (Directorate for Globalization, Culture, Education and International Development), the Deputy Director of Higher Education and Research: Mr Laurent Toulouse (or her representative);
  • four members of the Institut de France appointed by the Chancellor of the Institute:
    • Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres:
       - the permanent secretary, Mr Nicolas Grimal, or his representative, Mr. Jean-Yves Tilliette;
       - two members of the academy: Ms Nicole Bériou and Ms Agnès Rouveret;
    • Académie des Sciences morales et politiques :
       - the permanent secretary, Mr Jean-Robert Pitte, or his representative, Mr Georges-Henri Soutou;  

Eight members constituting those eligible to be president of the scientific council:

  • four scientific figures, French or foreign, chosen for their skills in the disciplines corresponding to the fields of the School, designated by the director:
    • Ms Catherine Brice (University of Paris-Est Créteil);
    • Mr Dominique Valérian (University of Panthéon-Sorbonne);
    • Ms Pascale Froment (University of Paris 8 Vincennes-Saint-Denis);
    • Mr Jean-Christophe Sourisseau (University of Aix-Marseille).
  • four representatives of partner institutions chosen by the director, at least one of whom mainly operates in the country where the School has its headquarters (the director chooses the institutions and obtains the opinion of the scientific council, the institutions then appoint their representative):
    • Mr Dario Mantovani (Professor at the Collège de France);
    • Mr Stéphane Verger (École Pratiques des hautes Études);
    • Mr Filippo Ronconi (École des hautes études en sciences sociales);
    • Ms Daniela Luigia Caglioti (Scuola superiore Meridionale - "Federico II” University of Naples).

Three elected members:

  • a director of studies elected by his peers: Mr Nicolas Laubry;
  • an elected representative of the research professors and their equivalents: Ms Cécile Martini;
  • an elected representative of scientific non-teaching research members: Mr Clément Bady;

Figures with an advisory role:

  • the Chairman of the Board of Directors: Ms Fabienne Blaise;
  • the administrative manager: Ms Pascale Garcia;
  • the director(s) of studies other than their representative (depending on the themes addressed): Ms Laura Pettinaroli and Mr Vivien Prigent
  • the accountant: Ms Monique Zimmermann;
  • the publications manager Ms Anne-Sophie Bourg;
  • the director of the Centre Jean Bérard in Naples (depending on the themes addressed): Ms Valérie Huet.

The president may invite experts on the advice of the director, depending on the items on the agenda.